Luminosity’s One Year Anniversary~

17 Oct

I opened up my blog on October 13, 2009. It wasn’t called “Luminosity” but “underrated love” at first but the same goals and meaning still apply. I want to promote, support and spread the love of underrateds not just by myself and for myself but with everyone and for all the artists who really and truly deserve it.

Below is my long thank you note to everyone (you can choose to read or not XD) but if you don’t plan to, from the bottom of my heart, I want to thank everyone for their continuous support~ But I want you to PLEASE PLEASE watch the video. There’s a special note in there from someone special keke.

I’m four days late to celebrate the anniversary because I was waiting for the special message inside ^-^

Throughout this year, there have been a lot of ups and downs. There were so many times when I felt like giving up, just quitting and never bothering to post anything because just the thought of it would literally cause me to cry and feel depressed. During this duration, I felt so angry and frustrated. Promoting underrateds is such a difficult task, way beyond anyone’s imagination. However, this past year has also been very rewarding. I don’t really know what the most rewarding feeling from creating this blog is but there have been lots of great memories. Some very worthwhile moments were replies and visits from underrated artists themselves, like Phonebooth and Spanish Koffee and on the Korean sites I have received personal replies/comments back from Navi and Dia and much much more. Nevertheless, the continuous visits from you guys, the supporters of the blog, the supporter of underrateds, have helped me to continue on.

To spread the love of underrateds is one of the most time-consuming and committing things to do. Other than not being Korean or having learned the language, I have really tried to rely on myself. I taught myself to browse Korean websites, I use online translators and dictionaries for research, I sign up for a bunch of random websites and stuff just to get the info I want and need when others cannot help me.

Furthermore, to define an artist who is underrated is more difficult. “Underrate” means to fail to appreciate, think little of and undervalue. That is the simple term of defining an underrated artist. Once an underrated does get their spotlight, once they have enough loyal fans to help promote and spread the love, I let them go and continue on with more underrateds. Underrateds are like my children, once they have ‘matured’ and ‘become independent’, it is time for me to let them go on with life and for me to focus on the rest of the underrateds. They, of course, will forever be in my heart, but if I do not continue on and keep sticking with them, the rest of the underrateds will not get the spotlight they so very deserve. I do feel sad by this fact but if I stop, who will help to continue this? This isn’t just a hobby that I am very passionate about, but a worthy cause I have fully dedicated myself to letting the world know about.

I have to thank all the artists for continuing to be strong, amidst the crowd of idol groups and popular artists. I have to also thank the many contributors and supporters around the world of not just the blog but to the fans. Without the constant visits and replies, I don’t know what would happen.

I want to personally thank (in no specific order):

Maggie (smc330)
Hikki
SUPERKAIIYO
Hidden SkyLight
Edward from Soompi
AsiaHolics
DoubleJMan
KPOPMV020
Rinoa Selphie
SooKyeong (Kbites)
Toesan (GoKpop)
Jae (Love[asia]music)
Kpop Explorer (bingyang)
Chrono
After Glow Love
Music4ursoul (BumpThisAsia)

Any site or person/people I have missed, I’m terribly sorry but I have a poor memory and even if I didn’t mention your name or site personally, I really am grateful for everything.

Lastly, I would like to thank all the idol groups and popular artists. Without them, underrated artists wouldn’t exist and this cause would have never started.

I am proud to be an underrated supporter and though life is a long and difficult journey to the artists and the supporters of underrateds, I hope there will be a line of people, a crowd of supporters to be there for underrateds when they need you the most. Like someone once said, [quote about one person making a stand]. This first anniversary doesn’t just mark the first anniversary of this blog, but it marks the past 1st anniversaries of artists we have missed and the future anniversaries of artists as well.
To conclude this day, I hope that you guys will continue to not just support this blog but underrateds for many years to come~ We all plan to stay for awhile~ ^_~

With much love,

Mardi/Tuesday

36 Responses to “Luminosity’s One Year Anniversary~”

  1. DoubleJMan October 17, 2010 at 9:12 PM #

    It’s so cool that Navi sent Luminosity a personal video msg! I wonder if she reads the aritcles here, or any other artists for that matter. I should probably watch what I say in comments now… hmmm =\

    Anyways, happy anniversary Luminosity! Keep up the great work you guys!~

    • mardi09 October 18, 2010 at 2:34 AM #

      Thanks! ^-^ I appreciate all the help.

  2. acinam17 October 17, 2010 at 11:53 PM #

    Happy anniversary! 😀 Keep up the good work!

    To be honest, I just discovered this site a few weeks ago and I was truly amazed 😀 I hope you continue this great endeavor! 😀

    Again, happy anniversary and more power 😀

    • mardi09 October 18, 2010 at 2:34 AM #

      Thanks for the discovery keke… ^0^

  3. aquii96 October 18, 2010 at 2:27 AM #

    Dear Mardi~
    Happy anniversary!!!!!!!<3
    I forgot how I discovered this blog but I'm glad I did.
    I've been a supporter of Luminosity since December and I'm proud of it.
    I know I haven't been commenting on posts lately and I'm sorry for that, I've realized that I'm a silent reader but I just want to let you know that I have been reading your post<3
    You've helped me learn how to download/rip music videos and shows onto my youtube account.
    I love how if I ever need information about an underrated artist it's easy to find them on here.
    I love how you have the patients and preservation to keep this blog up and going.
    You've introduced me to alot of artistes that I would have never found out about by myself if I only used the blogs that write about mostly "more popular" artistes, and I thank you for that.<

    • mardi09 October 18, 2010 at 2:38 AM #

      pwah ha ha i didn’t know there was a comment limit too…
      BUT!!! i’ve missed you, you disappeared lol but no problem~ even if silent, I appreciate it…

      I really appreciate the time when you participated in the CD giveaway last year too ^-^

      *tears* thanks for the kind comments =))))

  4. aquii96 October 18, 2010 at 2:33 AM #

    O.o
    There’s a limit to how much I can write in a comment???
    Well anyways to continue from my previous comment:

    Sincerely, Aquii96.<)
    ('')_('')

  5. Luis October 18, 2010 at 3:12 AM #

    축하합니다!!!!
    Happy 1st Year!!!

    • mardi09 October 18, 2010 at 3:16 AM #

      Thank you!!!! ^-^

  6. cinnamon October 18, 2010 at 4:24 AM #

    ;___; Navi’s so sweet *cries tears of joy* I only came across your blog this summer…but it completely changed my Korean music perspective and introduced me to some of my fave Korean musicians! Thank you so much Mardi!! Hwaiting!

    • mardi09 October 18, 2010 at 4:26 AM #

      haha my eyes literally tear up every time I read a new comment….I try hard to let it stay in…..ahhhhhhhh

      thank you so very much! ^-^ ~~

  7. Irina October 18, 2010 at 7:23 AM #

    I’m very pleased with you because it is like another world, seriously. When I listened songs of some famous groups, I was like “God, this is always the same, so repetitve” of course, there are good groups inside of the big companies too, but it’s not the same xD So when I found your blog I was very happy because I realized that there are a lot of underrated artists too, and they are more close than the others. So I appreciate your hard work a lot, and of course, I will continue supporting you ^^ (Sorry if there are some mistakes, but here in Spain the level of english is AWFUL XD)

    • mardi09 October 18, 2010 at 11:11 AM #

      Yes, to me it feels like another world too….sometimes I’m all by myself…and sometimes I get joined by you guys =) (wow, what a great imagination lol)

      But yes, sometimes when I listen to idol groups, I keep thinking to myself why the songs keep sounding so familiar, and I know that’s with underrated music too but to me, their music are on two different levels…

      hhaha don’t apologize for your English~ It’s perfectly fine ^^

  8. Jae October 18, 2010 at 8:27 AM #

    mardi i’m crying! really! and i’m going to be late for class but i wanted to say thank you so so much and happy anniversary! that video was just so sweet and it was so cool of her to record that for you<3
    i will be back and will put something special for you up on our blog ^_____^
    happy anniversary!!!!!
    -Jae

    • mardi09 October 18, 2010 at 11:14 AM #

      ahahhaha were you late?! don’t be late lol….

      yes, i still cannot believe that she would do that for me…and i thanked her everywhere and hope she replies back so she knows how much we all appreciate her for doing this~

      thanks Jae~

  9. Slava October 18, 2010 at 9:28 AM #

    U are very Hard-working!!! Thanks to u for ur work…. thanks for everyday updates… thanks for rare live videos….thanks for uplouding new albums…. THANKS>>>THANKS!!!! We love underrates!!!!!!!!

    • mardi09 October 18, 2010 at 11:15 AM #

      ah, I love Rare too so I can’t help but have to upload his videos =)

      I really should be thanking everyone~ It’s you guys & the underrateds who make me super duper happy 😄

  10. Slava October 18, 2010 at 9:30 AM #

    WOW!!!!! NAVI !!!!!!! SUPER!!!!!

  11. Jdene October 18, 2010 at 1:48 PM #

    Happy anniversary luminosity 🙂

    I don’t happen to remember how I stumbled upon this amazing blog
    probably links from other blogs and sites

    Anyways just wanna say thanks for all the great artists you share with everyone
    I really love this site and the artists you share
    keep up the good work and may many more anniversary’s come

    It’s cool how NAVI sent you a message 🙂

    • mardi09 October 18, 2010 at 4:13 PM #

      hahaha don’t worry about it…I hardly remember how I stumbled upon other sites as well…but thank so much~ ^-^

  12. Jdene October 18, 2010 at 2:23 PM #

    oh and just one more thing to say
    you opened up your blog on my birthday 🙂

    • mardi09 October 18, 2010 at 4:13 PM #

      hahah wow, really?!! that’s so totally cool XDD

  13. Arie J October 19, 2010 at 3:13 AM #

    Happy Anniversary Mardi! I love coming to your site to read about all the new artists and get updates on the underrateds! You are such an awesome person for starting this blog. Hope all anniversaries are as special as this one^^

    – Arie Jai

    • mardi09 October 19, 2010 at 3:37 PM #

      haha oh my…that must mean I should do an even better video next year. How wil l top off Navi? lol…but thanks so much for the many many support!!

  14. meu October 19, 2010 at 5:35 AM #

    hi, luminosity!
    i justf ound your blog rcently while searching about urban zakapa
    from your blog i just know, there a lot of singer with awesome voice those i havn’t know…thanks to you
    i’m still newbie in this underated world, so i till need your help & reviews
    please keep going fighting~

    • mardi09 October 19, 2010 at 3:38 PM #

      thanks so much for finding my blog =) if you ever need help or reviews feel free to ask~ that’s what i am here for ^-^

  15. jo October 19, 2010 at 7:18 PM #

    Happy anniversary!
    How sweet of Navi to send a personal message.
    I’m very happy that you’ve decided to continue Luminosity despite the frustrations! I can totally relate to how you must have felt; I, too, have a bunch of favorite underrateds that I wish people could have paid more attention to. It was the generic pop music that got me into Korean music, but over the years, particular this year, I’ve grown to love underrated artists and have taken the initiative to discover more of their music.
    Your blog has really opened up the door for many people who have yet to appreciate the underrateds but also those who wish to discover more underrateds!
    So thank you, and good job, Mardi!! Fighting!

    • mardi09 October 19, 2010 at 8:18 PM #

      …yes, I’m happy I decided to continue Luminosity also…

      I did start out with the mainstream music and made my way towards underrateds…just because every single time I tried to find info on someone, I couldn’t ask anyone so that’s why I taught myself to do research and now I’m able to find info and hope I can find even more in the future.

      Thanks for the kind message ^^ I’ll keep trying hard.

  16. pill October 20, 2010 at 1:56 PM #

    Congratulations on the 1 year anniversary! Your blog is very much needed for international fans to discover underrated artists. So thank you for your work and I look forward to many more updates to come~

    • mardi09 October 20, 2010 at 7:20 PM #

      Thanks~ I hope I won’t miss a single day of updates =)

  17. kpopexplorer October 20, 2010 at 7:11 PM #

    haha, I am always late in everything.
    Actually, I had arrived here on 13 & 14.

    Congratulate on the 1st year anniversary ^^ Always appreciate your hard work, especially only you are doing it great so far, bring people who love Kpop to underrated artists.

    Once again, congratulate that you got the special message ^^
    This blog is your life. Keep going, friend. I can’t thank you enough how much you have contributed to my blog.

    • mardi09 October 20, 2010 at 7:14 PM #

      haha well, if you arrived on the 13th, you weren’t late at all. I was just late in celebrating this event.

      Thanks so much! I am glad that I could help you also. =) I would post something everyday but I have a tight budget. I’d go and buy all new great releases hahaha

  18. chukuma October 21, 2010 at 5:21 AM #

    Mardi, happy anniversary!~ Your site is a wonderful resource for underrates artist. I believe when I came upon your site this passing summer, I was looking for information on Navi! Than, I was exposed to a whole vast of underrates that I have come to love from your amazing site!

    Your hard work is very much appreciated and thank you for taking the time to share these wonderful underrates! 🙂

    • mardi09 October 22, 2010 at 1:43 AM #

      haha thanks so much ^-^ i really appreciate it~

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [Event] Luminosity’s One Year Anniversary! « Love[asia]Music - October 18, 2010

    […] Luminosity’s first anniversary and Mardi is so so sweet you just have to go visit her<3 Luminosity promotes non mainstream and unappreciated artists out there because there is just so much […]

  2. Center Stage: MardiLuminosity Celebrates First Anniversary « BUMP THIS - October 27, 2010

    […] celebration, I wanted to give her a special feature to help her celebrate. A snippet of her celebration, As I opened up my blog on October 13, 2009. It wasn’t called “Luminosity” but “underrated […]

Leave a Reply

